Models: Sci-Fi Laser Blaster

Treasure Harbor

Dude! Where is your orange cap!

Zap! Zap! The sci-fi laser blasts sounded as that shot towards John. “Ouch! That really hurt, where did ya get that cool gun from?” John yelled as blood trickled out of his left arm. Blowing off the tip of the laser rifle I said “Well, let me tell you, here is a Band-Aid first.”

The creation of this prop started out its life as a squirt gun. Are we allowed to say squirt gun anymore, maybe squirt toy? I am sure this post is going to be logged in some FBI database for the amount of times I mention the word gun. After many exciting and successful water fights the cheap plastic toy broke. Gotta love good ‘ol China quality. I proceeded to the water hose where it was determined by John, who was drenched in H2O, that I not only won the battle but also the war.

Being very environmental aware I am always looking at ways to recycle and reuse things for the better of all and to save some money so that is where this idea started. The toy was clear plastic and brittle in some parts but a good coat of primer covered up the imperfections. I sanded down some areas that stood out as well. I had always thought the toy looked like the blaster used by the palace guards in the movie Star Wars Episode I: The Phantom Menace that came out around when I painted this.

I worked on this project just as I was moving out of state so this is as far as I got. At this stage I added highlights on parts that were raised. My plan then was to paint the gun blue and gold with silver highlights. I also had a long plastic tube, kind of like those used for toilet paper holders to put on the end of the barrel. I did not have the tools at the time to get rid of the water holder or the seam around the edges so I just lived with it. I think it’s still around my parents’ house so maybe someday I will go back to finish it up.

So next time your kid is throwing away a water gun or you happen to visit a local dollar store during the summer keep these in mind for a fun creative modeling project.

Note: No animals were harmed during the writing of this article. I did stub my toe on the couch and it hurts a lot and John is laughing at me.

Leave a Reply

