Models: 1969 Chevrolet Chevelle AMT/ERTL

Treasure Harbor

“Who dented my car? That is the last time I go shopping at Pier One.”

Hey you reader! Yes, you sitting there in your pajamas drinking luke warm coffee. Come with me on a ride as I take a trip down memory lane to look at this muscle car model kit I built. Sure, you can bring the coffee with you, just hurry up.

This is an old AMT/ERTL model kit from 1991 that I built back in the early 2000’s. This kit could be built one of three ways, and I think back when built it I made my own version up. This kit was fun to put together and was easy to build. It was one of the first, if not that first, that I used chrome trim foil on. The stuff is amazing, it really takes your classic models to the next level. At first it’s hard to apply but after a few models you will get the hang of it, trust me, I did.

I painted this car in a blue auto paint that I got from the auto store. In Ohio you can just walk in and pick through the colors easily, out here in California everything is locked up as if people are all terrorists waiting to plot some evil plan. If you have the choice I would recommend painting with an airbrush at all times, you will have great results, but if you are stuck with using expensive auto paint cans don’t worry you can get great finishes with them.

Treasure Harbor

“My exhaust is falling off because my car is more powerful than yours!”

All you have to do is rub out the paint job and sand between coats, apply some clear and buff it out to get a show quality paint job. I guarantee that you will have better paint jobs on your models that any car made before the 1980’s unless it’s a super car. Do the robots that paint cars now stand 20 feet away? Kids, if you go to a car show look at the paint jobs of cars, see how clear they are, see how far away you can see yourself, it’s like looking into a colored mirror for crying out loud.

Treasure Harbor

This generic, poorly labeled model box is from the fine folks at AMT/ERTL.

After the car show, look at the cars in your neighborhood, especially the imports. Either they are really bad and full of orange peel or you are as ugly as an ogre. It’s still nice to know that we can recreate great paint jobs in miniature to keep some part of history alive.

On the front right fender of the model I had a sink hole on the model kit when I opened the box up. I left it there because it looks like a natural dent and gives a bit of character to this model kit. I know its not the greatest quality and neither are my photos but as a kid this was a blast to make. My dad insisted that I use factory correct paint, and in fact it might be really close. He has tons of official paint books to check. Over the years I stopped going into super detail about the colors and whatnot but for those that take the time to make it factory correct I applaud you for your dedication.

Treasure Harbor

The “SS” logo is blacked out to make it look like a sleeper car.

As a car I like the Chevelle, to me it seems like a generic muscle car though. I see a lot of rusted ones that might fit in on the bad parts of town better than at a car show. In Ohio they showed up all the time, they all seem the same. I would love to own one over any new car today don’t get me wrong but nothing screams at me that its super special.

The bread and butter of my modeling obsession came through mostly car model kits, mainly because of my dad’s interest in the subject and how can you not love fast old cars? Well it seems kids these days don’t care for old cars and thus we have seen a dramatic reduction in the modeling car industry.

Manufactures trying to squeeze every last drop out of old tired model kit molds refuse to create new models in most cases. Kids these days want to model plastic rice burning grocery getters rather than a manly and powerful car built with pride. There are new kits for kids today but not as many as when the hobby was in full bloom back in the 60’s. Sure the car culture is different today and people only seem to care about price when buying a car not where it’s made, the workers who made it or where the money is going in the end. When things change in America for the worse will they point at themselves because the wanted to save a few extra dollars? I doubt it.

Treasure Harbor

All black interior, step one of the muscle car bible.

It still boggles my mind that people think American cars don’t hold up. Fine, go get yourself a foreign car and don’t cry to me when it breaks and the parts cost 8x as much as ones to fix a Ford or Chevy. This is true in other countries as well, what happened to pride in American products?  America used to be proud of the things that it made, not anymore, everything is made the cheapest way possible.

I never really knew this feeling growing up in the 80’s only through talking to people that work at car factories and those that have better lives because of unions do I know what it means to take pride in what you make. Every other country in the world takes tremendous pride in buying things that come from their own country. That is why hardly anything from America sells in Japan for example.

Everybody has a vote when you pay with your hard earned money, maybe that is the problem people get money without really working for it or knowing the struggles and hardships of those that make your plastic car wonder. Living with debt over my ears I might never be able to afford a new car, never be able to purchase a new car every 3 years. Those that do, those that are lucky to have an easy life please consider not only the cost of your car but all the small things that quickly add to up positive change in our country, we are not alone and we need your help.

Thanks for taking a look back at this model with me. It’s a great amount of fun to build a model car then go see the real life version. It really makes you appreciate the effort and craftsman ship that go into so many parts of these old great muscle cars. See you out there at a car show mighty Chevelle.

Leave a Reply

