Recycle This: PC Security System Wooden Sign.

wood, crafts, funny, humor, treasure harbor, writing, blog, review, journal, fairs, festivals, pier one, imports, arts, painting, handmade, hand painted, blue, signs, wooden signage, classic signs, rustic, country, decorations, collectibles, PC, MAC, Apple, protection, security, system, gaming, grammar, identification, negative ads, American pickers, pawn stars, antiques roadshow, crane operator, LAN party, geeks, nerds, commentary, treasureharbor, finds, pickups, items, collection

wood, crafts, funny, humor, treasure harbor, writing, blog, review, journal, fairs, festivals, pier one, imports, arts, painting, handmade, hand painted, blue, signs, wooden signage, classic signs, rustic, country, decorations, collectibles, PC, MAC, Apple, protection, security, system, gaming, grammar, identification, negative ads, American pickers, pawn stars, antiques roadshow, crane operator, LAN party, geeks, nerds, commentary, treasureharbor, finds, pickups, items, collection

When I was younger computers were my entire life. I always could be found hunched over a keyboard like a banana-less monkey.  None of that MAC crap, all Windows based PC’s for hours upon hours of gaming bliss. The computer I built was a beast, it could run laps around a business PC, it could run the latest game faster than you can blink so it was fitting that I would need some kind of security system to protect my much desirable computer and this sign was all I had.

I can see some over-weight crane operator making signs like these in his basement and selling them at local festivals for $12.95 plus tax. I don’t know where it came from and I don’t know who actually made it. It appears to be hand-made but so does all the other crap at Pier-One, so your guess is as good as mine.

I no longer feel that hardcore about much anything let alone computers. I realized about the time when I gave up cheering for sports that in the end you can’t have it all, it’s all about money and the endless consumer fest which drives our modern world. So instead of trying to have the latest and greatest of anything I look towards something with more quality, I look on the back of packages and underneath for the country of origin. I feel like I am taking a more responsible approach to spending my hard earned money and putting it where it can be of more use.

Computers are still in my life, I can’t get away from them no matter how hard I try. And boy have I tired! When your whole career is based on computers that makes it a bit hard, but I am doing it slowly so there is hope for me yet! This sign was adorned on my blue beast of a gaming PC for many years. The computer’s mother-board fried from too many times going to LAN parties. It was a sad funeral for the PC but the sign did its job well.

If I had a sign on my computer now it would be a much more inspirational message rather than a defensive one. I think that is one the most negative aspects about a society based solely on spending money, you can’t avoid it. My new sign might read something like this.

“If you touch my computer please use a search engine that does not track your search results, don’t visit any sites with a number in the address and make sure you turn it off when you are done. Thank you, have a nice day.”

One thing I do find funny about this item and maybe the reason why I choose to write about it is the funny and odd grammar /sentence structure on the piece. There is no reason why each word would be capitalized. Also there should be a comma after computer or add the words “and you” before “will die”.

The sign is about four inches by four inches and made out of wood. The handle if you like, is made out of wire and appears to be hand painted. There are no ID marks on it and I don’t know what its worth.

This butchering of the English language makes me wonder if the product was made in China or a non-English speaking country. The sign is humorous, I will give it that. Having it around too long made me too attached to the things I owned and I am happy to have this as a reminder that things don’t make our lives, we do. Or something inspirational like that.

Hits

–          It’s made out of wood!

–          Nice size to put it around your computer.

–          Appears to be handmade?

Misses

–          No ID marks.

–          Bad grammar.

–          Seems kind of negative.

Rating: C

Leave a Reply

